Thanks to the ever hopeful Zalm for pointing out, in a comment on an earlier post, that James Dobson has opted out of Ted Haggard’s counseling team.

Here’s why…

“Emotionally and spiritually, I wanted to be of help _ but the reality is I don’t have the time to devote to such a critical responsibility,”

That sounds kinda familiar. Now, where did I hear something like that before? OH, YEAH, I KNOW!

16 Jesus replied: “A certain man was preparing a great banquet and invited many guests. 17 At the time of the banquet he sent his servant to tell those who had been invited, ‘Come, for everything is now ready.’ 18 “But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said, ‘I have just bought a field, and I must go and see it. Please excuse me.’ 19 “Another said, ‘I have just bought five yoke of oxen, and I’m on my way to try them out. Please excuse me.’ Still another said, ‘I just got married, so I can’t come.'”

That, Mr. Dobson, is from the gospel of Luke, chapter 14. I mention this because you may have forgotten. You received the same invitation, a summons to the kingdom of God (which is the subject of that parable) and you turned it down because you don’t have time. Do you think the other two members of the team have the time? Probably not. But that’s not your real reason is it Mr. Dobson. Maybe it’s because you’re not really a pastor, but take it from me, that shouldn’t stop you.

I suspect something else. I suspect that it has something to do with a discomfort you might be having with the true meaning of a key theological concept: grace. Of course, I could be wrong. You might really be too preoccupied to help a brother in need.

Technorati Tags: , ,